Baked Mac-and-Cheese: The Palengkera Birthday Treat

First off, I am a little worried about adding a number on my age. Good thing is, I am not good in mathematics, and so, who cares. It is just a number. On the other hand, I am thanking the odds and the Universe for letting me enjoy and to laugh another year with my family and friends. Well, it might not be all rainbows and butterflies.  There might be some rough times but it will be all part of what life should be.  Good times will always rule!

So, it’s Sunday and I am celebrating it with a beat. Some of my friends will visit in a while for dinner.  I am thinking of the easiest route or to just ask someone to deliver it all, but I am very prideful of my cooking and baking skills.  Oh, well it’s my birthday, so I deserve a shining moment today.  The only thing is, I can’t figure out what to cook or bake.

I am determined to make my birthday special so I am thinking of cupcakes but it’s a lot to work on a hot afternoon.  I just wanted something a bit more different than a cake, so I decided to make Mac and Cheese baked in mini cups. This is one of my all-time favorite recipes, simple and easy.  I wanted to share it with you today (with the photos on how to make it) in case you’ve never gotten a chance to make it. To say, this mac-and-cheese recipe is a treat and is a wild underestimation. It’s so good, it makes grown men cry (and to get attention from your DOTA-addict boyfriend).

The wonderful thing about this baked mac-and-cheese is that it is perfectly delicious on its own, or with bbq, or paired with other birthday treats. Good source of protein, vitamin A, B group vitamins, calcium.  In fact, I might have to make this again tomorrow for a little celebration at work.  Celebrants are expected to bring food as this is the aged-old custom.  How I wish this tradition overturns during  birthdays, potluck for me is recommended.  But hey, that rule is for my birthdays only.

I went to a mini-Palengke and Grocery to buy the things needed:

  • 1 (12 ounce) package macaroni
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups Whip Cream
  • 1/2 cup of condensed milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 1/2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

mac2

Anyway, here’s how you make it.

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease aluminum baking trays or paper minicups.

mac1

2. In a large pot of salted water, lightly boil the macaroni for about 5 minutes until half-cooked.

3. Whisk the egg and whip cream/milk together in a large cup. Add butter and cheese to the egg and milk. You may add 1/2 of condensed milk as optional. Stir well.

4. Place the lightly cooked macaroni in the prepared baking dish. Pour the egg and cheese liquid over the macaroni, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and stir well. Press the mixture evenly around the baking dish.

First batch looks not so gorgeous but my friend-Palengkenita was delighted with how it tastes.

mac4

The fruit(cheese) of my effort, enduring the heat of the day:

mac5

I just do hope my friends will appreciate my hard work later. But it is enough for me. For the rest of the menu, I just called Amber’s Restaurant for their delivery services.

See you later guys.

One thought on “Baked Mac-and-Cheese: The Palengkera Birthday Treat

Leave a Reply

