Lost in Binondo: Palengkera and Friends

As a Palengkera, I thought I know Divisoria and Binondo that much, apparently not. I’ve been there a gazillion times as a wanderer and a cheap-seeker, I never thought I still gonna get lost.

collage9

Chinatown/Binondo Area

A friend suggested we pay a visit to Divi last weekend as humans were partying in the eternal parks, we assume to avoid the hustle. We left at 6am via the PNR (my friend’s first time to ride the rustic-dinosaur train). We didn’t have a plan anyway, no list to buy, we just wanted to wander and bring the “come-what-may” demeanor. Yes, we were right. Divi was almost a ghost town, malls were still closed (but I knew that on the onset since it’s still 7am), few street/sidewalk vendors were still setting-up. You see, we really had nothing to do by then. We decided unanimously to feed our rumbling stomach. We were aiming to eat somewhere in Binondo/China Town. And so we got lost.

20141101_070631

tired legs

We started to walk along Recto going to 168 Mall to 999, we knew there were no shops open yet. I volunteered to be a leader (for once), and followed my instincts. I really was “nagmamaganda” and carry my “know-it-all” kembot. But we were literally lost. But as they say “someone gave us mouth, so we might want to put in good use”. We did, but to no avail. We were like in Sahara on a 90 degree where we didn’t know what path to take. I was seriously ready to give in and just sit or lie down on the floor. Imagine the grease we had and I felt like I smell like the sewers we passed. The smell of the area was not pleasant I tell you. After the never ending walk, lo and behold – we saw Ongpin Street- and that’s when we saw the light at the end of the tunnel.

20141101_075715

Binondo Church

On the bright side, walking around Binondo was like blast from the past, a living museum. It was nice to see Binondo Plaza, the old church, the ancient PNB building, bricked buildings and anything oldy. Establishments and restaurants were also pattered to the Chinese ambiance, something Chinese were incorporated with them.

20141101_080340

binondo

Along Ongpin, we chance upon this open restaurant – Four Season Cuisine. It was nothing fancy, it felt like an ordinary Chinese carinderia to me (or we were just too hungry to be picky). But then the crowd started to build up and you know that something is good when you see long lines in a restaurant. They offer crab egg omelet, dugo guisado, oyster omelet, port spareribs, dimsum, tofu guisado, mixed veggies and wide array of noodle soup. I saw the menu and it looked kinda affordable to me.

20141101_080943

Four Season Cuisine

My friends ordered siomai/dimsum, spareribs, fried tofu, fried rice, morcon (don’t know if it’s an accurate name for it).

20141101_080710

long line at the Four Season Cuisine

I had this sumptuous mixed noodle soup. Heaven (not that I was hungry).

20141101_081421

Mixed Noodle Soup

Outside the restaurant, I chanced upon a strange fruit. I saw it sometime ago in facebook posted by my aunt from the west. The vendor saw me staring at it and he offered me to try so he cut a portion of it.  I felt the need to buy the whole fruit – and guess how much? P105. I maintained my composure to look like I’m “sosyal and mayaman” (char!).  Looking like a cross between tomato, peach and an apple. It tasted like bland chiko without the grainy feel.

persimmon

curious case of persimmon

Well, I say, it’s okay to get lost at times when you end up to something wonderful, something nice. It maybe painful at first, but we have to have a point of reference for being happy – that is to endure first. Did it sound like I justified my mistake?

20141101_070515

at the PNR

Leave a Reply

