Bangkok Street Food

Street Food is the heart and soul of one’s culture. Street vendors showcase various morsels matched to local’s palate.   Reliable and fast –those we can grab at a sidewalk when restaurants are closing and when stomachs are rumbling. It is also someone’s national pride. Often passed from generations to generations, oftentimes with the original recipe but some would infuse a twist. Restaurants attempted to imitate and serve street food, but we all know that they taste well on sticks, brown paper, plastics/wax wrappers, or by hand. And eaten standing up, on the go, on the streets with the stains all over your hand along with other busy people who as much as you do, doesn’t give a damn.

pad thai

Pad Thai

Call me bias, but I suppose Asia is one of the best if not the top street food haven in the universe. I’ve yet to conquer Vietnam, Korea, India and Taiwan streets to sample the food their streets have to offer, but I’d say Hong Kong, Manila, Singapore, Dubai and Thailand have proven enough of my contention. To be fair, I’ve seen the Western counterparts of street food through the telly – food travel shows from the likes of Andrew Zimmern and Anthony Bourdain. I’d love to try them all however bizarre they may be. But at this point I’m all crazy about Asia. But who knows, my opinion might change when I get to try them all – be it Mexican tacos, US hotdog and hamburgers (eww), Ireland blood sausage (we have them here), New York sandwich, and all.

pork bbq street food

Bangkok Street food is one of my favorites. I visited Thailand for a business meeting for a week, the good part was, I had one weekend to wander their streets. No, I am not an expert Bangkok wanderer, but I can say I am learning about their food. So I sampled some of their best and took photos to show how colorful and awesome their streets can be to food lovers like me.

JW Marriott

JW Marriott

I had to eat at the hotel’s buffet breakfast every day.  The food was great, but you see, I was in Bangkok so I might as well eat what and where their people eat.

On that weekend, I decided to ditch the posh menu and headed to the nooks of their streets. You can literally experience authentic Thai food on the city streets or just in every corner of their MRT(if they call it MRT).

bangkok streets

Bangkok Street Food

Verdict: 4.9/5 stars. Thai food needs no introductory. The harmonious combination of sweet, sour, spicy and salty flavors is what makes it unique and exceptional. The spice alone offers variety, hell yeah – from mild, to deliciously to deliriously hot.  The cultural and background of Thai cuisine is entirely a different subject –which I don’t have a resource at this point.

So without further ado, here are some of the popular street foods I found.

Colorful Fruits and Vegetables in just every corner of the streets.

Bangkok Fruits

Bangkok Fruits

Bangkok Mangoes

Bangkok Mangoes

Bangkok Coconut

Bangkok Coconut

Bangkok Rose Apple

Bangkok Rose Apple

20150205_080851

bangkok Street Food

bangkok Street Food

Bangkok Street Food

Bangkok Street Food

Bangkok Street Food

Pork Delights inside Chatuchak Weekend market

Pork Delights inside Chatuchak Weekend market

Along Chatuchak Weekend Market

Along Chatuchak Weekend Market

Along Chatuchak Weekend Market

Along Chatuchak Weekend Market

Along Chatuchak Weekend Market

Along Chatuchak Weekend Market

Thin Crepe-Along Chatuchak Weekend Market

Thin Crepe-Along Chatuchak Weekend Market

Thin Crepe-Along Chatuchak Weekend Market

Thin Crepe-Along Chatuchak Weekend Market

Street Food- Along Nana Red lights District

Street Food- Along Nana Red lights District

Street Food- Along Nana Red lights District

Street Food- Along Nana Red lights District

Street Food- Along Nana Red lights District

Street Food- Along Nana Red lights District

Street Food- Along Nana Red lights District

Street Food- Along Nana Red lights District

20150131_205108 - Copy - Copy

Nana Place

Mango Salad

Mango Salad

Shrimp Dessert

Shrimp Dessert

Tom Yum Soup

Tom Yum Soup

Grilled Shrimp

Grilled Shrimp

mangostickyrice

Mango Sticky Rice

 I’m pretty sure I just scratched the back of an elephant so to speak.  I came to Bangkok innocent and ignorant, I left just the same.  I can’t even pronounce most of the food names. But I rave everything about the street food, the flavors, the colors, the people and all.

Leave a Reply

